Claude Max 20x renamed Ultra, removing the 5-hour limit, but the weekly allowance is still only 10 times that of Pro
BIBIBI
AT A GLANCE
The report says that Anthropic will rename Max 20x as Ultra and remove the 5-hour limit for some users, but the weekly allowance has not increased.
Article
Claude Max 20x renamed Ultra, removing the 5-hour limit, but the weekly allowance is still only 10 times that of Pro
Beating AI News Flash: Anthropic adjusts its Claude subscription plans: the monthly 100 USD Max 5x is renamed Max, 200 USD Max 20x is renamed Ultra, with no price change.Ultra also removed the previous 5-hour usage allowance limit. Previously, even if the 1 weekly allowance had not been used up, users could be forced to wait several hours before continuing because they had made too many calls to Claude in a short period. They can now concentrate their usage without being subject to this short-term limit.
The new policy is being rolled out in batches to most existing Ultra users. New accounts still temporarily have a 5-hour limit and must wait for automatic system verification to prevent fraud and abuse. The limit will be removed automatically after verification, and an email notification will be sent.
However, the total weekly allowance has not increased. The original “20x” referred to an allowance every 5 hours equivalent to 20 times that of Pro, not to the weekly allowance.Ultra still has only 10 times Pro’s weekly allowance, and the Fable model has a separate weekly limit.
Original link https://m.theblockbeats.info/flash/374753
Key points
01
The article states that the monthly 100 USD Max 5x is renamed Max, and the monthly 200 USD Max 20x is renamed Ultra, with no price change.
02
The article states that Ultra removed the previous 5-hour usage allowance limit.
03
The new policy is being rolled out in batches to most existing Ultra users.
04
New accounts still temporarily have a 5-hour limit and must wait for automatic system verification; after verification, it will be removed automatically and an email notification will be sent.
05
The article states that Ultra the weekly allowance remains 10 times that of Pro, and the Fable model has a separate weekly limit.
AI-assisted interpretation
The following is analysis, separate from reported facts. Verify important claims independently.
This adjustment mainly changes the plan names and the pace at which allowances can be used. Eligible Ultra users can use their allowance more intensively without being temporarily stopped by the 5-hour window; however, the total amount available within the 1 week has not increased. New accounts must still pass system verification first.
Why it matters to readers
For Ultra users, removing the short-term limit can reduce waiting when usage is concentrated, but the total weekly allowance remains unchanged, meaning that the plan’s total long-term availability has not increased.
If you are considering subscribing to Claude, you should distinguish between the “5-hour limit” and the “total weekly allowance”: the former affects whether you can use the service continuously in a short period, while the latter determines your overall usage during the 1 week.
Risks and unknowns
The information comes from a Telegram news flash repost, and although the article includes an original-source link, it does not provide an official Anthropic announcement.
Based on the available evidence alone, it cannot be confirmed whether the renaming, pricing, and allowance rules have taken effect for all regions and accounts.
The time required and specific criteria for automatic verification of new accounts were not disclosed.
The specific allowance for the Fable model’s separate weekly limit was not disclosed.
Related Developments
Loading event timeline…
Related concepts
5 Hourly limit
This term is not in the glossary yet. Browse related concepts in the glossary.