Neuralink Released ALS early speech restoration data
BIBIBI
AT A GLANCE
Neuralink said its brain-computer interface enabled one ALS participant to reach 75 words per minute in the first week.
Article
Neuralink Released speech restoration data:ALS A participant reached per minute in the first week 75 words
PANews October 29 reported that Neuralink posted on X to release early speech restoration data, stating that its brain-computer interface can already enable amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) participants to achieve speech-to-text conversion and speech output at conversational speed. One participant reached 75 words per minute in the first week; with a vocabulary of 125000 words, the word error rate (WER) was 5.8%. The data were presented by Dr. Nader Pouratian at the 2026 NEALS annual meeting.
Neuralink released early speech restoration data on X.
02
Neuralink said its brain-computer interface can already enable ALS participants to achieve speech-to-text conversion and speech output at conversational speed.
03
One participant reached 75 words per minute in the first week.
04
With a 125000-word vocabulary, the word error rate (WER) was 5.8%。
05
The data were presented by Dr. Nader Pouratian at the 2026 NEALS annual meeting.
06
The report was sourced from PANews.
AI-assisted interpretation
The following is analysis, separate from reported facts. Verify important claims independently.
This means that the system described in the report can convert relevant brain signals from participants into text and speech; the first-week record was 75 words per minute, with an error rate of 5.8%。
Why it matters to readers
If the data are further verified, the speed and accuracy of brain-computer-interface speech output may have practical significance for ALS participants.
ALS may affect the ability to speak; this technology seeks to help some participants restore text or speech output.
Risks and unknowns
The material does not provide the original Neuralink X post or complete materials from the 2026 NEALS annual meeting, and the data still require direct verification.
The material does not specify the number of participants, testing methodology, follow-up duration, or adverse-event data.
The report does not specify the full testing conditions corresponding to 75 words per minute and a 5.8%word error rate.
Related Developments
Loading event timeline…
Related concepts
Brain-computer interface
This term is not in the glossary yet. Browse related concepts in the glossary.