The material states that Revolut’s private valuation reaches 115000000000 USD, as it seeks growth while navigating license expansion, profitability, and compliance risks.
Crypto-friendly bank Revolut’s private valuation has reached 115000000000 USD, making it Europe’s highest-valued startup, with a valuation exceeding that of the UK’s Barclays and France’s Société Générale. The company currently has 80000000 customers, close to 84000000 JPMorgan Chase’s 41000000 and higher than HSBC’s 2025’s pretax profit was 1700000000 pounds, below Barclays’9000000000 pounds, but it continues to grow rapidly. Its revenue comes from a range of products, including payments, foreign exchange, and card subscriptions, rather than relying primarily on lending. As of the end of 2025, Revolut’s loan book was only 2200000000 pounds, with a loan-to-deposit ratio of 6%, significantly below HSBC’s 55%and Société Générale’s 86%. Revolut still faces issues including low revenue per customer, a limited lending business, and insufficient use of primary accounts. In the US market, the company holds a provisional license but will face more intense competition. In addition, Revolut was previously fined in Lithuania for anti-money-laundering deficiencies and, in September, mistakenly sent some customer data to hackers impersonating government investigators.
Key points
01
The material states that Revolut’s private valuation has reached 115000000000 USD, making it Europe’s highest-valued startup.
02
The material states that Revolut has 80000000 customers; JPMorgan Chase has 84000000, while HSBC has 41000000。
03
Revolut is applying for more market licenses and expanding its business from Mexico to regions including Australia.
04
The material states that Revolut’s 2025 pretax profit was 1700000000 pounds, while Barclays’ was 9000000000 pounds.
05
Revolut’s revenue comes from a range of products, including payments, foreign exchange, and card subscriptions, rather than relying primarily on lending.
06
As of the end of 2025, the material states that Revolut’s loan book was 2200000000 pounds, with a loan-to-deposit ratio of 6%; HSBC’s was 55%, and Société Générale’s was 86%。
07
The material points out that Revolut faces issues including low revenue per customer, a limited lending business, and insufficient use of primary accounts.
08
The material states that Revolut holds a provisional license in the US and will face more intense competition.
09
The material states that Revolut was previously fined in Lithuania for anti-money-laundering deficiencies and, in September, mistakenly sent some customer data to hackers impersonating government investigators.
AI-assisted interpretation
The following is analysis, separate from reported facts. Verify important claims independently.
Private-market valuation is the price investors assign to a company in a non-public transaction; it does not mean that the company has received an equivalent amount of cash, nor does it equal the company’s public-market capitalization. The materials portray Revolut as having a relatively large customer base, multiple sources of product revenue, and a relatively low proportion of lending, while issues remain concerning customer monetization, lending scale, usage rates of primary accounts, regulatory compliance, and data security.
Why it matters to readers
115000000000 USD The private valuation of reflects the high market pricing described in the material; license expansion may affect the markets Revolut can enter. At the same time, its profit is below the level listed for Barclays in the material, and the anti-money-laundering and customer-data incidents may create regulatory and trust risks.
Beginners should distinguish between valuation, profit, and customer count: valuation is an investment price, profit reflects operating results, and customer count does not equal active customers or revenue. When examining companies of this type, attention should also be paid to licenses, the loan-to-deposit ratio, customer usage rates, and compliance incidents.
Risks and unknowns
The materials do not include original documents from Revolut, investors, or regulatory authorities, 115000000000 USD so the valuation and other data cannot be independently verified based solely on this article.
Related Developments
Loading event timeline…
The financing size, investors, shareholding ratio, and specific transaction terms of the private transaction were not stated.
“September” does not specify a year, so the timing of the customer data incident cannot be confirmed.
The specific type, scope, and validity period of the U.S. “temporary license” were not stated.
The amount and date of the anti-money-laundering fine, as well as the subsequent remediation, were not stated.
“Maintain rapid growth” and “more intense competition” are general judgments; the materials do not provide corresponding growth-rate or competition data.
Related concepts
Private valuation
This term is not in the glossary yet. Browse related concepts in the glossary.